Monthly News

by Kevin Williams


Round 7 of The World Series ……Round 7 and the penultimate round of Our World Series of Swims took place last Wednesday evening in brisk conditions . A southerly wind and an out going tide made for a choppy swim . A new course was taken courtesy of the wind having blown the buoys out of place . 52 swimmers took to the water accompanied by 14 Kayakers . All the swimmers were conscious that time was running out to gain points and it made for a very competitive swim . However there were some swimmers tired from an 8km swim in Caragh Lake the day before and others were saving themselves for The Killarney Hardman . In any case there were some exceptional swims with Michael OConnell Jnr winning Grp A and setting the fastest time . Group B was won by John Gilmartin and Group C was won by John Quilter . All prizes were very kindly sponsored by Fitzgibbon Interiors .

Swimmer of the Year …… Michael OConnell Jnr and Siobhain Griffin are now tied at the top of the table with 19 points but closely followed by Donal Fitzgibbons , Maura Hayes and Niamh Murphy . Any one of these five swimmers can now win The Swimmer of The Year for 2015 and it should make for a very competitive final race . There are 1st , 2nd and 3rd places in each group up for grabs so it is still all to play for ! Michael OConnell Jnr leads Grp A , Siobhain Griffin leads Grp B and Catriona Kelly leads Group C after a great season of swimming .

Donation … The club would like to sincerely thank Martin Moore for his very kind donation of a kayak to the club .

English Channel ….Congratulations to Tralee man and Club member Kristian ODonovan who swam The English Channel earlier this week . A great feat . Kristian is now the the second Club member to have completed the swim . Rosie Foley being the first . Kristian is also the first Tralee person to have completed it .

RIP …..The Club would like to express their sincere condolences to the family and friends of Edmond Moriarty who passed away recently . Edmond used to be a regular fixture and character at Lockes Beach in the summer evenings . Rest in Peace .

The Gerald Walsh Memorial Swim ……..The final swim of the season takes place on Sunday The 13th of September where all positions will be decided . It will be followed by the traditional BBQ .

Blennerville to Fenit Swim ……..This has now been pencilled in For Saturday the 5th September .

And finally …….. Our Annual Prizegiving and Social takes place on Saturday 26th September in The Meadowlands Hotel . A full sit down meal , Prizegiving , a live band and dancing into the night ! Please support this great night out and all swimmers and friends are invited from the masters and tri club as well . Tickets available from ant committee member for 35euro .

The Lighthouse Swim 2015

By Kevin Williams


What a great night in Fenit on Thursday 6th August with a packed schedule  of events taking place at The Bathing Slip .

First up were The Juniors from The Kingdom Swimming Club under John Edwards having their annual sea race . Some very young brave swimmers were  giving it their all to the finish .  Well done to you all !

Next on The Agenda was The arrival of our Gold Medal Winning Olympic Hero , Brendan OConnell  !  A 5 minute standing ovation from the 180 or so people gathered  there greeted him ! What a magnificent achievement . He mingled with the crowd showing his medals and stopping for photos . The Club were very proud to present Brendan With an Outstanding Achievement Certificate  granting him Lifetime Membership of The Club .

Next  up was the Official Opening of Our new Changing Rooms .  Our three senior members were there to cut the ribbon . President PJ Costello , Vice President David Slattery and Treasurer Denis Cronin  .


The BBQ was fired up as The race around The  Lighthouse began . Group C were off first along with the 11 visitors  from Clare , Cork and Limerick  and 8 Senior Kingdom Swimmers ..   4 minutes later GRoup  B gave chase and Grp A were 4 minutes later again . The very strong incoming tide pushed everyone out to the left and made it a hard struggle to cut back in and up the side of the lighthouse .  As they made it to the top the strong flow swept everyone around with a few staying  too close to the rocks .

First home was Kristian ODonovan who started with the visitors . Kristian head off to Dover this week to take on The English Channel. The very best of luck Kristian ! Cillian Tierney was next in and set the fasteest time and a course record of 21.33 . Fastest Visitor was John Ryan from Limerick Masters  in 27.56 and First Kingdom Swimmer home was Dara Masterson in a time of 31.30 .  A very special word for David Slattery who also completed the swim at 82 years of age !

Group A 1) Cillian Tierney 2) Brendan OConnell

Group B 1) Rosie Foley 2) Donal Fitzgibbons

Group C 1) Antoinette Boyd 2 ) Lorraine Bowler .

Thanks to Graham Kelliher from Surf n Sail who sponsored the prizes !

All swimmers and guests enjoyed the BBQ and refreshments as Father Gearoid and Father Mulvihill carried out The Blessing of the Changing Rooms . Thans very much to them and their lovely words of encouragement .

A big thank you to everyone who took part in any way ! We had 75 swimmers ,around the lighthouse , 25 junior swimmers , 11 visiting swimmers , 19 Kayakers , 4 rescue boats with crews  , 6 timers , 8 BBQ’ers  , 1 Olympian , 3 dignitaries  and 2 CLergy along with a host of guests !  There were 200 burgers and 350 sausages  consumed and washed down with an endless supply of refreshments . A great night I think !







Latest News

By Kevin Williams
The Donald Walsh Memorial Swim…………… The Donald Walsh Swim and BBQ finally took place last Wednesday evening . A huge crowd showed up so a big thank you to all the helpers who showed up on the night to make sure all went smoothly . 13 Kayakers , 6 BBQ era and 6 timers . There were 54 swimmers in the 3 groups and the spectators were treated to a great race over the 1500 metre course which became tougher after the turn with a wind against tide chop .. After handicaps were applied , Donal Fitzgibbons emerged victorious to win The Perpetual Donald Walsh Memorial Cup . Cillian Tierney won The Donald Walsh Trophy for the fastest time of the night in an amazing 16m47 . Winner of Group A was Michael OConnell Jnr . . Winner of Group B was Donal Fitzgibbons and . . Winner of Group C was Antoinette Boyd . . Congratulations to all .
Michael OConnell Jnr now leads the points table for swimmer of the year on 12 points but has a large pack chasing close behind .
Round 5 …… We hope to run Round 5 , The Brendan OCallaghan Cup this Thursady Eve at 7.30 pm . The race is kindly sponsored by Utensils .
Official Opening ……….The official opening of our new changing rooms will take place on the 6th of August to coincide with The lighthouse swim and BBQ and John Edwaeds Kingdom swimmers race . All are welcome to attend
Special Olympics ……..A big Good Luck to Our friend and great swimmer , Brendan OConnell who is in Los Angeles to compete in the Special Olympics in the 800m pool race and 1500m Open Water Race .