Latest News

By Kevin Williams
The Donald Walsh Memorial Swim…………… The Donald Walsh Swim and BBQ finally took place last Wednesday evening . A huge crowd showed up so a big thank you to all the helpers who showed up on the night to make sure all went smoothly . 13 Kayakers , 6 BBQ era and 6 timers . There were 54 swimmers in the 3 groups and the spectators were treated to a great race over the 1500 metre course which became tougher after the turn with a wind against tide chop .. After handicaps were applied , Donal Fitzgibbons emerged victorious to win The Perpetual Donald Walsh Memorial Cup . Cillian Tierney won The Donald Walsh Trophy for the fastest time of the night in an amazing 16m47 . Winner of Group A was Michael OConnell Jnr . . Winner of Group B was Donal Fitzgibbons and . . Winner of Group C was Antoinette Boyd . . Congratulations to all .
Michael OConnell Jnr now leads the points table for swimmer of the year on 12 points but has a large pack chasing close behind .
Round 5 …… We hope to run Round 5 , The Brendan OCallaghan Cup this Thursady Eve at 7.30 pm . The race is kindly sponsored by Utensils .
Official Opening ……….The official opening of our new changing rooms will take place on the 6th of August to coincide with The lighthouse swim and BBQ and John Edwaeds Kingdom swimmers race . All are welcome to attend
Special Olympics ……..A big Good Luck to Our friend and great swimmer , Brendan OConnell who is in Los Angeles to compete in the Special Olympics in the 800m pool race and 1500m Open Water Race .